Home > Crochet, Handmade, Selling > There’s a New Handmade Market in Town!

There’s a New Handmade Market in Town!


If you are thinking about selling handmade or vintage, you might want to give Zibbet a look. And if you’re like me and sell on Etsy and have noticed that it seems to be over-saturated, just like eBay became, then you might be interested in trying something at an earlier level – before they get too big for their britches down the road.

I’m picky, but Zibbet impressed me enough this morning to sign up and the basic store is completely free of all fees eBay and Etsy would charge. And it was very simple process to set up, I’d say even a little easier to put a listing together than Etsy is. You do have to have a Paypal account though. 

The premium store package allows for unlimited listing and customization. You can try it free with promocode “FREETRIAL.”

Anway, if it helps anyone, especially right now with the holidays – pass the info link on: http://www.zibbet.com/AberrantCrochet/sell

Added content:  Hey – also, I found out they have a referral program.  If seven folks sign up for a store through my link, I can get a free premium account.  You can too!  I don’t know how long the referral offer is good for, so if you’re interested, get it done!

Categories: Crochet, Handmade, Selling
  1. October 29, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    It does really help, and thank you. For someone just mulling it over to start a little something online, etsy and E-bay are both a little intimidating and daunting – this might be a great way to get ones feet wet. Again, thank you for sharing:)

    • October 29, 2009 at 4:47 pm

      Hey no problem! I’ve been on eBay 10 years and Etsy 2. They really are not difficult to use, but I find they have more pages to get through just to list something than is exactly “convenient.” I like them both, but I think it’s harder to sell handmade these days on eBay unless you really get your name. And Etsy does not bring as many hits as it used to when it was new. Some artisans have used ArtFire, and I looked at it, but didn’t like the layout as well, nor did I feel it was as easy. And right and left I see input from online peers who are dropping ArtFire because they aren’t getting sales and can’t justify the fees. So this new option looks win/win to me.

      Glad if it helps! Thanks for dropping by!

      Blessings,
      Jules

  2. Josh Gantt
    October 30, 2009 at 12:31 am

    Zibbet may have a simpler look, but they have been around nearly a year and just don’t have the traffic. In the selling game a “free account” that no one ever visits is worth exactly what you pay for it. You can see the traffic here. I use compete all the time to see if these auction sites are really worth my time.

    http://siteanalytics.compete.com/zibbet.com+artfire.com+1000markets.com/

    Happy Selling

    Josh

    • October 30, 2009 at 8:49 am

      Thanks Josh, that’s really useful information and link. And normally, I agree that you get what you pay for. However, two years on Etsy and loads of online work later, I’ve received only 3 sales total in spite of all the “traffic,” comments, being featured on the front page multiple times, faves and support from other artists who supposedly believe in my work. I’m doing better sales locally, through consignments, in person and even from contacts through my blogs. So in that regard, I’m willing to give Zibbet a shot. Less than a year is not enough of a track record for me to thumb someone down just yet and it costs me nothing to give it a try and see what happens in the Beta and “add” it to everything else I’m already doing. And I was set up and done in less than an hour, so I’m really not losing anything. It won’t be free forever, but they gotta get the word out and establish their presence somehow in this financial climate. I reserve the right to drop them at any time. Mostly, I see these online store services as a supplemental perk to send customers to who meet me and see my work in person. And I guess, unless I get better photography skills, that’s probably how it’s going to be. The real customers are in the real world, not the virtual I think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

