Home > Random Thoughts > “Look Mom – I’m Statically Charging My Face….”

“Look Mom – I’m Statically Charging My Face….”


“Look Mom – I’m Statically Charging My Face….”

These were the words I heard from my 10 year old son this morning as he turned on my massage pillow and proceded to rub his face up and down on it.  My life as a mother is a surreal life sometimes.  Really it is. 

What’s Happening Now

So it’s Thanksgiving Day and hopefully everyone in your neck of the woods is having a great time enjoying food, friends and family.   My Texas family is all gathered around the TV watching the UT vs. A&M football game.  I really don’t know much about football and have never cared.  But there’s a lot of hooting and hollering on both sides here. 

Thankfully though, being that we are not home today, my brother-in-law was kind enough to loan me his laptop and internet connection so I could be sure and get my blog post in for today.  Would be a shame to miss my post for the day just because we are enjoying ourselves so much after a long day of cooking too!

What Are You Thankful For?

One of our Thanksgiving traditions, thanks to my sister-in-law, is to go around and everyone tells what it is that they are thankful for this year.  It’s a great chance to reflect over the past year and think about just how blessed we really are and it’s a tradition that I’ve come to look forward to. 

I know I have an awful lot to be thankful for this year.  Including the fact that my knee injury is healing up well and I won’t need surgery.  Or that after a long lay-off, dear hubby is employed in a better job than the one he was laid off from.  That I never had surgery on my neck after all and that I can still sing with my family as our tradition is wont to be this time of year.  Or that we are surrounded by friends and family that I know will be there for us in any crisis.  I also know that there is a multitude of personalities out there that I can be thankful for as well.  Each customer who crosses my path, each artist I get to know, each person who has shared wisdom, support, resources, or just gave me a lift and a smile when I needed it after life had just given me a thorough stomping. 

Sometimes you really don’t know how you can change the world for someone you don’t even know.   Or how a quirky little antic from a young boy can make a mother smile and forever enrich her life. 

So how about you?  What are you thankful for?

Categories: Random Thoughts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment