Home > Editorial, Informational, Random Thoughts > Researching and Valuing an Antique – Unpuzzling the Past…

Researching and Valuing an Antique – Unpuzzling the Past…


I’m a romantic. I love stories and love wondering about the past and the objects that were there to witness it. Though I’m not a true antique collector, it’s hard to resist saving a quaint old treasure to find it’s story.

So I’m researching a fold-up antique table I found at Goodwill for $3.99. I could tell it was antique, maybe mahogany, I don’t know. Old craftsmanship for sure. Part of the furniture sticker was missing, so I could not see the whole company name. I finally figured out from someone’s newspaper ad the missing parts:

*Date stamp 1939 *Sticker on back says- Bridge Table & Novelties inc Lowell mass Topper Products “Limited-never duplicated” …

And then found another reference to this furniture company through this website and it’s service feature of helping you find out how much something is worth, here…:

http://www.mythings.com/valuations.aspx

Kind of neat site and service! For $4.99 you can send them a photo of your item and they will research it for you and give you the background. I think that’s cool. I have a couple items I’d like to know more about. They had valued a table kind of like mine by the same company at $50.

Anyway, thought ya’ll might find this interesting! 
Have more resources to recommend? Please share with us in the comments!

  1. Ramona Romine
    March 2, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I have a table by Bridge Tables @ Novelties, Inc. Lowell, MA Topper Products
    Walnut #9 HUNT. Do you have an information about such a table or where I could find such. Any help would be appreciated.

    • March 2, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      Hi Ramona,

      I never did find more info on the furniture company other than a single valuation listing at the website referenced above. However, I did find a reference to a possible (albeit out of date) address as: “Bridge Tables & Novelties, Inc., 80 Rogers St., Lowell, Mass.” And I believe that the Center for Lowell History might be a good resource to learn more about this company. You can find them at: http://libweb.uml.edu/clh.html.

      Good luck with your search and let us know if you find out more!!

      Blessings,
      Julia

  2. March 2, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Reblogged this on Aberrant Crochet (TM) and commented:

    Republished from my original post on my blog The Difference Between A Duck on Nov. 29, 2009

  3. April 29, 2012 at 7:10 am

    Wow! That’s an amazing service. I’ve never heard of it before. Kind of like one’s own private “History Detectives.” I have tons of stuff I’ve inherited. Obviously, I know where the stuff from my parents originates. But the stuff that was my grandparents….. who knows? I always look at old objects (and buildings) and wonder to whom they belonged. Who used that little desk? What were they wearing? What were they thinking? Who lived in that building when it was new? Where did they work? Did they have a family? I have a fantasy of standing on a street corner and going back in time, one year at a time – walking around and seeing what the world around that corner is like a year ago, two years ago, 30 years ago, 150 years ago……. But I digress. The point is, I’m definitely going to check out this research service. Thanks for sharing it!

    • April 29, 2012 at 7:22 am

      I share many of the same fantasies Jill! 🙂 I’m so glad it might be of help to you. You’ll have to share anything cool you find out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

