Home > Random Thoughts > The Best Speech Teacher…

The Best Speech Teacher…


One of my favorite teachers ever was a one-armed vet who taught speech and debate at the first university I ever attended.  I was 15; I believe the first graduate of that age to attend there. 
 
He scared the crap out of all of us our first day in class, waving his one arm around, knocking hats off people’s heads, demanding gum out of people’s mouths and barking orders and rules at us.  We all stared wide-eyed at each other wondering just what had we gotten ourselves into, signing up for his speech class. 
 
But I never consciously learned more from just one person that has become a part of me.  I dearly loved him.  At the time, I had no idea that he was head of the whole department. 
 
Not too long ago I found out that he died a few years back.  It makes me feel sad I won’t get to hug and thank him.  Even then I could not realize the lasting gift he gave a small, young, shy girl.  To this day I owe my self-confidence in public speaking skills mostly to him.
Categories: Random Thoughts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

