Home > Family > I Have Fallen from the FlyLady Band Wagon…

I Have Fallen from the FlyLady Band Wagon…


It was a really nice break away from school over the holidays with the kids.  We relaxed, we worked together to get ready for Christmas and have family over.  We traveled to visit loved ones.  We caught up on some chores and over all kept the house in fairly good order.  It was nice.  Usually the winter break feels far too short and somehow I’m always catching up from the “break.”

Last night the kids cleaned up their room, cleaned out their school bags, sharpened pencils, packed erasers and snacks and all around got their things in order.  I didn’t use a check list, but did query each kid – do you have everything you need to start the new year off right?  This generally includes laying our clothes out the night before so all is simple and easy to get done first thing in the morning, no matter how tired we are.  The youthful answer was a resounding yes. 

Then this morning came.  Both of my tweens were dragging around, taking far too long to get ready.  Monday after break is always loads of fun.  Upon coaxing, they both suddenly exclaimed this morning they had no clothes to wear at all! 

What?  Hey – I’ve done laundry, so this shouldn’t be.  But it was the return of the dreaded Mt. WashMore.  Dear son had worn every single pair of pants I had washed up for him and they were all in a pile of laundry.  There’s no telling if some of it actually was worn or not.  Dear daughter is out of socks and although she has a drawer full of clothes, claims most of them can not be worn anymore without layering something underneath, because they are getting short.  

I stared at the drawer full of clothes and the drawer devoid of pants.  You’ve got to be kidding me.  What have I said before – waiting until it’s finally time to go to school is not the time to say – I have no clothes.  First I sigh, then I get angry.  Sure enough, I find them each clean clothes to wear, out of their own dressers.  Still it is obvious that they are nearly right – they have no clothes to wear.

I have them gather me a basket of clothes to fling into the washer.  They are only able to produce a small amount.  I’m disappointed.  This was not how I wanted to start the new year.  I wanted to start out ready and have the week flow.  There was time over the break to go over outgrown clothes and such, if I had known and we had communicated on it. 

I have an appointment this morning, so I have no time to crawl around their room looking for clothes.  It will have to do.

Categories: Family
  1. January 4, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I have been running behind the flylady wagon trying to hop back on for over a week, lol. 😀 Going to shine my sink now…

    • January 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      It’s so hard during the holidays, isn’t it? Yep, I’m rebooting my washer now! 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

