Home > Family, Humor > Coffee Good – Geography Bad….

Coffee Good – Geography Bad….


“I thought South Padre Island was inside the US?”  I said, blearily reading the TV commercial ad between news scoops and sipping my coffee.  I did not sleep well (again) last night.  And no matter how you slice it, no matter how many good marks I got for other subjects, I’ve always sucked at geography.  Probably because I forget names (all names) so easily without a picture or experience to anchor with it.

“It is,” my husband says, giving me one of his patented wtf looks.

“But that commercial just said South Padre Island, Bahamas.  That’s not a US territory!” 

“It’s not in the Bahamas – it’s in Texas!” he exclaims, incredulous.  Duh, we live in Texas.  “Well, that’s what I thought, but that commercial…”  “Honey, they were talking about a “Paradise Island resort!”  And he’s the one who wears glasses.

It’s a good thing the kids have him.  He sucks at math, I suck at geography.  It evens out somewhere.

“Oh – well I wondered.  I thought I was getting my islands confused again!”

“Drink your coffee!”

Then from the corner my son pipes up, “Coffee gooood…..  Geography baaaadddd…..”

Guess I know what I’m writing about today….

Categories: Family, Humor
  1. January 6, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I am the same way with geography. I have to visit or live somewhere to put it on my mental map. Makes a good excuse to travel, but I’m afraid to ever go on Jeopardy. I’d probably blow it on some easy peasy geography question…

    I found you via NaBloPoMo, by the way! I’ll be back. 🙂

    • January 6, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      Hey Mental! Thanks for dropping by and sharing! Yeah, me too – I’d blow it on Jeopardy! Good luck with NaBloPoMo and I will check out your blog!

      Blessings,
      Julia

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

