Home > Informational, motherhood > When Does Memory Start to Function Normally Post-Pregnancy…?

When Does Memory Start to Function Normally Post-Pregnancy…?


“…Or does it?”  An interesting question posted to one of the mommy boards.

My youngest is 10 and though I’d say, no it’s not the same, I’d say it’s as effective and works differently and that’s what you have to adapt to.

Becoming a mother causes natural physical changes in how the mind compartmentalizes what is “important.” So that’s part of it. And initially, nothing is more important than baby.

Part of it is lack of sleep. I take melatonin to help me. And part of it is the brain now taking on a new dimension of multi-tasking. Phosphatidyl Serine really does help, though it is expensive.

Subsequent injury and illness also affects how we experience memory, and boosting your immune system will always help. I was in an awful car accident (shouldn’t have walked away) that took it’s toll on my short-term memory as well. Not consistently, but with stress, some elements of everyday life would just not register as important enough to stay in my short-term memory. At that point, my body trying to heal itself became the most important use of life energy, in addition to my life commitment as a mother – hence remembering something like getting orange juice at the store if it wasn’t on my list didn’t make the cut on what was important to use brain energy for. But it is coming back. Pregnancy is actually treated by the body as a trauma. Thyroid and immune system cells are produced differently during that time, just as during other “emergency” states of injury. With a good immune system, it takes about a year for the average human body to recover physically from pregnancy – about the same as recovering from even minor surgery.

I also swear by chiropractic care. I firmly believe my mind is in better shape when there is no pressure, even subtle alignment pressure, on my spinal chord. The more free and clear that area is, the better my brain seems to function.

Just remember – motherhood makes you multi-dimensional now. Part of your brain is always actively making certain that your child is safe and cared for. And each child adds a new dimension taking up it’s section of the hard drive. It’s a natural state. But leaves you feeling literally a bit divided. It’s OK. We moms prove ourselves time and time again at being able to accomplish incredible things and in mass quantities – all the things that matter most. We multi-task to incredible levels. We rise to the occassion of whatever is required of us and for the sake of our families, almost without need of thought.

It is what it is. Brain’s rewired for mommyhood now.

Categories: Informational, motherhood
  1. January 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I’ve heard this from many a mommy friend, too. I’ve started taking turmeric lately, and eating more curry (which I already love!) because recent studies have been saying it’s good for the brain. Doesn’t seem like it can hurt anything! ~Tui

    • January 21, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      Hey – great info. Thanks for sharing! Notice any difference yet? Be sure to share if you do (or don’t)!

      Blessings,
      Julia

  2. onsundaymorning
    January 20, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Post-pregnancy brains function in a world of there own.

  3. January 22, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I dunno about my brains, but the turmeric helps prevent stiff fingers from all the keyboarding I do. Who knows what else it’s helping? It’s nice not to feel like the Tin Man, though, after several hours of typing. ~~Tui

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

