Home > Family, Food > I Need Some New Ideas on Reducing Our Grocery Bill!

I Need Some New Ideas on Reducing Our Grocery Bill!


“I Need Some New Ideas on Reducing Our Grocery Bill!  My hours have been drastically cut, times are hard and I have 6 kids to feed!”

This plea for help was posted to one of our local mom groups.  This was my reply to her, in case it helps anyone else one here too.  If you have any additional ideas you’d think would help others, please feel free to share them in the comments!


I think cooking from scratch is the only way to make it work financially, though it’s more time consuming. My husband was laid off for about 8 months last year, and to keep spirits up, I tried to be sure and make some special items so it didn’t feel so desperate to the kids.

Some folks really like this menu service for the frugal family: http://savingdinnershop.com/ebooks/frugal/.  It does cost some money for the e-book, but some folks swear by it.  Leanne writes based on what’s in season, which is usually what’s on sale.

I have the regular book (actual book) Saving Dinner: The Menus, Recipes, and Shopping Lists to Bring Your Family Back to the Table and find I save money from it, and even take it to the grocery store, but the frugal mailer actually strives to live on a shoe string.  I haven’t subscribed to the frugal mailer because I’m allergic to pork and her first book, (the regular) has no pork recipes and I feel it’s been good enough for us.

Another book I really like that I feel has helped me keep dinner interesting and save us money is Don’t Panic – Dinner’s in the Freezer: Great-Tasting Meals You Can Make Ahead.  This book is written more from the cooking in larger quantities point of view and having it all ready in the freezer to save time later.  It contains conversions for all the recipes in multiple quantities, anywhere from enough for one family to enough for a whole football team or party, which is a really nice feature.  But I also find it saves money.  And the recipes so far have been really good!  (And I mean REALLY!)  I found it at the library and had to get my own copy.   Many times I do not make the recipes to put in the freezer though, and the recipes do not depend on being frozen.

Others really like Angel Food Ministries.  They help families save money by buying together. Again, I haven’t used them because of my food allergies, but if you have no dietary restrictions, I hear folks find it very helpful.

Hope any of this helps!  Best of luck!

Blessings,
Julia

Categories: Family, Food
  1. February 2, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Julia,

    Thanks for including savingdinner.com! We try really hard to help families stay within their budgets and eat healthy at the same time!

    We have FREE menus for people who sign up for our newsletters, which are packed with free info, recipes, nutrition, the whole bit! You can sign up on our website, right there on the front page.

    Blessings to you!
    Leanne Ely
    http://www.savingdinner.com

  2. February 9, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Hi Leanne! Your comment was a pleasant surprise. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for sharing with my readers. I’ve been a long time fan of yours, since before your first book came out. It is in part due to your good heart and helping others that I continue without hesistation to recommend your work over the years. Thanks again for all you’ve done to help serve others!

    Blessings,
    Julia

  3. July 3, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Dear Julia,

    These resources are wonderful. Looking forward to checking them out.

    My suggestion: Use meat as a garnish. Purchasing meats can really make the grocery bill soar. Combined with plenty of whole grains and veggies and condiments, it will go a long way in satisfying even the biggest of eaters.

    Thanks for sharing. ~ Gracie

    • July 4, 2010 at 12:19 am

      Dear Gracie,

      Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and sharing your suggestions! This continues to be a popular blog post even if it’s not what I usually write about, which I must think a sign that folks are seeking help. Really appreciate adding your comment’s help!

      Blessings,
      Julia

      Gracie and her husband are fellow artists. You can find their work on Etsy at: http://WieberArt.Etsy.com.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

