Home > Informational > Evaluating Dr. Scholl’s…

Evaluating Dr. Scholl’s…


So after dinner tonight, we went by the grocery store for a few items.  We have plans with the in-laws tomorrow and I’m baking two of Alton Brown’s Curry Chicken Pot Pies, which I needed some frozen veggies for.  (An excellent recipe, btw.) Then there’s the cake, making sure there’s TP in the house, and stuffing my shoes.  What?  What a minute.  That wasn’t on my list.

But sure enough, we rounded the corner and there was one of those Dr. Scholl’s foot mapping machines.  With my genetically compromised feet, the resistance to trying the machine just wasn’t there.   I plopped the veggies and buttermilk on the floor, shucked my shoes and stepped onto the pad.

First it asks you to stand with both feet and shift your balance to place a dot into the center of a series of circles.  Reminded me quite a lot of the yoga board I use with our Wii.  Then it prompts you to hold the bars in front of you and raise the left foot, and then later the right foot.  All the while it is measuring the pressure zones on your feet which you can kind of see in the visual image they give showing the zones of pressure, with red being the greatest pressure.  My pressure zones were big toe, ball and heel of my feet on both sides.  My arches used to be high, but thanks to a degenerative bone structure I inherited, they are damaged now.  So it was no surprise to me that they ranked with low arches.

Then the machine makes a recommendation for your feet based on the mapping.  For me, with low arches and lots of pressure on my feet, it recommended something more corrective than probably most folks would need.  Their orthotics run $50 a pair, no matter the type and there are 14 different levels to choose from.  Plus the machine sports a money back guarantee if you’re not satisfied.

My husband encouraged me to get the recommended pair.  I sometimes have so much trouble with my feet.  “If it helps remove the pain, then it’s worth it,” he said.  So far, orthopedic views about my feet only offer chopping them up to reform them.  Which I’m not anxious to do.   So as long as I can, I make myself walk.  Mobility with pain is better than none at all.  Which makes me a firm believer in the quality of my footwear.

So since getting home, I installed the new orthotics into my New Balance sneakers and have been wearing them around the house.  I’m not sure yet if they are right for me or not.  Generally a new pair of New Balance’s are the thing for me.  At first the Dr. Scholl’s orthotics were fairly comfortable.  But now that I’ve been wearing them a bit, they aren’t so much.  Though I firmly believe with anything like this you need to give it a good test for a few days, not just a few minutes.

There are two thoughts I have so far on my experience with them over the last hour or so.  One is related to the fact that I have abnormally short toes.  It took some years of adulthood to discover that I have issues with most shoes, because my toes are shorter than average.  This means my feet tend to go further into a shoe than they are designed, and the arch of the shoe does not line up with the arch of my foot.  I show up on those foot measuring tools as being 5.5 extra wide, when in reality if I had real toes, I’d be more a 7.5 wide.  My second thought is that I may need to re-lace my shoes.  And the orthotics do push my foot further upward in the shoes than I am used to.

So we’ll see.  I’ll give it a whirl while baking my heart out tomorrow.  There’s always lots of standing in the kitchen, so it should be a helpful test.  Will let you know what I think after giving it some more time.

Categories: Informational
  1. Trish
    September 4, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I ran across your blog about evaluating Dr Scholl’s.
    I was hoping to find your follow up review, but none seemed written.
    So, I’m wondering… yes, no, maybe so?
    I just got some, for different reasons, but was looking around for reviews from real life wearers, since most of what you find is just shopping mumbo jumbo.
    Any feedback would be great. If you could shoot an email or whatever.

    Peace, Trish
    Anaheim, CA

    • September 5, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Hi Trish,

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m afraid I’ve been remiss with the evaluation. I tried them out for a few days and realized that I really needed to rip the original arch supports out of my shoes for the Dr. Scholl’s inserts to probably work right. And I wasn’t ready to do that. (I already wear New Balances and they are not cheap shoes.) So I pulled them out of my shoes and then misplaced them for awhile. (Apparently one of my kids got a hold of them.)

      I still want to do a real evaluation of them, but at this point, my suspicion is that these are best used with shoes that do not already have support built into them. I’m sorry I don’t have a better evaluation to give at this time. But please feel free to share your experiences, because I’d be really interested to hear real stories from others too.

      Blessings,
      Julia

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

