Home > Crochet > My latest hand carved crochet hooks

My latest hand carved crochet hooks


image

These are the latest of crochet hook designs I’m experimenting with. If you have not taken a class from Jimbo, I highly recommend it. He really helped remove apprehension and helped me take my very intent views on hook shape to the next level. Not to mention repair split hooks I haven’t been able to use in years.

In these examples, you can see the difference in throat lengths, point of the tips, length of the lips, etc. I made one with a flattened edge for picking up stitches as well.

Also, one of the hooks is carved from a Pei-Wei chop stick. This kind of chop stick is unique because instead of being round in diameter, they are oval. I have a theory that this flattened style may be comfortable to both saber hold as well as pencil or chop stick hold crocheters.

And side note, yes chop stick and pencil hold are different. Chop stick hold is loose and just like using a chopstick, control is gained via almost a floating partial rotation on the pads of the three middle fingers. Pencil hold is a clamp style hold and does not allow the hook to float in the fingers.

Anyway, comments on the shapes welcome!

Categories: Crochet
  1. December 2, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    OMG! They are awesome!!!!!

  2. December 9, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Oh you make me so proud of you! Those are fine looking hooks!!
    Jimbo

    • December 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      Hey Jimbo! Thanks so much for visiting my blog! I’m so glad you like them! I hope to get more done over the Christmas break!

      Hugs,
      Julia

  3. April 29, 2012 at 7:12 am

    These are beautiful, Julia! And they look like they’d be a delight to use! Love them.

  4. April 29, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Aww, thank you Jill! I plan to have some to offer for sale later this year. Right now, I’ve stashed my carving tools while we stage the house for sale. 🙂 Can’t wait to have more room to work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

