Home > Uncategorized > If You’re Looking For Me Here, You Should Find Me Over There….

If You’re Looking For Me Here, You Should Find Me Over There….


So it’s been a long while since I’ve written anything here at The Difference Between A Duck with any regularity.  It’s not that I don’t write.  In fact I write quite a bit.  It’s just that I have found myself struggling more and more with splitting my attentions across multiple blogs and other places that I write at.

You see, some years ago I used to think I needed multiple blogs and spaces to cover all my writing interests.  I mean, that’s the way it was supposed to be, right?  Particular subjects for particular blogs?

But I find today I’m not so sure anymore.  In some cases it makes sense, in others… sigh… maybe not so much.

I used to think that people liked to read what I write because of the subject material. And I think that’s still true to a degree.  However, I’ve come to realize it’s not really what I write as much as my style, friendliness and way of looking at the world that draws readers.  So in that case, it doesn’t really matter if each blog is perfectly themed or not.  If I will just naturally be me, that’s all anyone really cares about, no matter where I am.  And splitting my focus and attentions at this point only serves to water down what I do.  Better to have the one main punch I think.

And so instead of writing on four different personal blogs all the time, and instead of trying to keep TDBAD as my “writing personality” only and PW as handmade only and FQ as family only, I’ve pretty much now consolidated anything related to my quirky personality, loves and way of looking at the world over to my blog at Aberrant Crochet during the last year.

Now, I’m not saying I’ll never write a post here again.  I reserve the right to follow whatever whim I might.  Who knows what the future holds?  But for now, the way my life is stretched, I’m consolidating Pixie Worx, The Difference Between A Duck, Family Quirks and Aberrant Crochet all over at Aberrant Crochet.  In fact, when I do NaBloPoMo every November, that’s the blog I enter now, not TDBAD (this one) anymore.

So if you’re still subscribed here, you might want to mosey on over to Aberrant Crochet, if you haven’t already.  I’m also pretty active at micro-blogging over on Twitter as @AberrantCrochet as well.  So if you’re on Twitter, follow me there – and say hello if you do!  I love real peeps who actually interact and will follow you back if you do.  I don’t follow linkers though (people who only post links) so keep that in mind.  Twitter is truly social and it’s about developing relationships.  But more on that in a new blog post over at Aberrant Crochet.

So here’s the deal.  The articles already written will stick around (I’m not taking down these other blogs at this point), but if you want to find me where I’m most active now, head over to Aberrant Crochet and subscribe there.  It’s a lot more interesting and a lot more fun and with my schedule, that’s where my focus is now.  Way simpler to just be myself and write what I love all in one place.  Gee, what was I thinking after all?  Perhaps someday it will be conducive to write so much that I’ll need these other blogs again, but for now, one will do.  😉

Catch you on the flip side and thanks for following me there!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment